Visiting Portland from Dallas. Need advice. :)

I will be visiting Portland from Dallas in August (to escape the heat).  While I am in town, I would love to make a trip to the Plains of Abraham and ride it.  I have been riding mountain bikes (cross country) for about 15 years.  Can anyone point me in the direction of a good place to rent "higher" end mountain bikes or possibly group rides?  I dont mind riding it alone if it is a heavily traveled trail where someone would find me if I happened to hurt myself.  And also if there arent any animals up there that might think I am a snack.  Any info would be greatly appreciated.  thanks a bunch  :)

Fat Tire Farm for Rentals

Fat Tire Farm is the only shop I know of that rents nice mountain bikes.

http://www.fattirefarm.com/our-rentals/

It's too bad you didn't choose July instead. You'd be able to join in for Helens Fest and have plenty of company and a free demo bike to ride.

http://www.nw-trail.org/event/2012/07/2879

https://www.facebook.com/groups/HelensFest2/

If your up for more adventure, I highly recomend bringing some lights and timing a ride up there with a full moon.

I wish I could.  I am

I wish I could.  I am actually just coming to visit with my mother.  She went last August and absolutely loved it up there.  She wanted to take me and I told her there is no way I am going up there and not riding something.  It looks like there is some amazing riding up there.  I cant wait.  It is usually around 105 - 110 degrees around that time in Dallas.  Will be a NICE change.  thanks for the info  :)

Sellwood Cycle has some

Sellwood Cycle has some decent rentals also.

+1 on the night ride up there.

Post up the dates you are planning to ride.  

O&B on the Plains is easily navigated.  If you're up for a little more adventure, consider the entire Ape Canyon-Smith Creek loop.

CB

How long is the entire Ape